top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKellina

Matcha and Monday's



I am usually a big coffee girl, but recently I've boarded the matcha train. My favorite way to get my matcha fix is an iced latte. In order to respect the stay at home orders and save money I've been making it myself. Here's what I do:


Ingredients

1 tbs matcha powder

1-1.5 tbs honey

1/4 cup of hot water

1/2 cup of milk


I start by mixing the matcha, honey and hot water in a small bowl and wait until everything is dissolved. Then I add ice and milk to a glass. Last I add the matcha to the milk and stir everything together. Voila!



Matcha is a great way to get caffeine and also antioxidants, vitamins and minerals. According to some studies it can even help with focus and improved mood. This is a benefit I definitely need with my work week schedule.


I teach at a 6-12th grade school in the Bronx. We have moved to a remote learning model in light of Covid-19 and since my school is on eastern time and I'm on pacific time, my days start pretty early. I try to adhere to the east coast time to make staff meetings and also to help my students maintain some sort of consistency in their school schedule. A typical Monday looks like this:


6:30 am-All staff mandatory meeting

7:00 am-Check google classroom to make sure scheduled attendance and classwork posts are live

7:30-8:00 am-Answer any emails, check the news, complete the daily mini crossword from the NYT

8:00-9:00 am-NAP

9:00-10:00 am-Breakfast and making myself look somewhat presentable for office hours

10:00-1:00pm- Office hours (if no one shows up I'll grade and plan lessons for the next day)


It's been kind of nice getting most of my work out the way by 1:00pm. I feel like I have more freedom to focus on other projects, workout and spend time with my family. This isn't how I would have like to wrap up my time in the classroom, but I'm making it work.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page