top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKellina

Simple and Fast "Quarantinis"



It's finally the weekend (even though everyday can feel the same) and since going to a bar is out of the questions, making cocktails at home is the best way to adhere to social distancing rules and also get your weekend on. So, whether you are heading to a zoom birthday party, hitting up an online rave or crushing a game of Bananagrams with your family, these extremely easy and fast "quarantinis" help bring a little bit of your favorite bar into your home.


1. "Gin Fizz"

I am a huge fan of a gin and tonic, but when I went to my local grocery store there was an abundance of sparkling water and no tonic water in sight! With a quick google search I found a recipe for the Gin Fizz and grabbed the sparkling water. I decided to leave out the simple syrup, mostly because I had to hop on a zoom happy hour and didn't have time to make my own. If you do want to add simple syrup all you need are equal parts sugar and water and a pot. Add the sugar and water into the pot and cook on medium heat until everything is dissolved and looks syrupy. Now you have simple syrup! The lemon in the drink takes away any need for sweetener in my opinion, but since you are making this drink for yourself play around with flavors until you get something you like!



Gin Fizz

-1 shot of gin

-handful of ice

-sparkling water

-lemon or lime juice


1. Add ice into the glass

2. Add shot of gin

3. Fill up the rest with sparkling water

4. Add lemon or lime juice

5. Stir and enjoy!




2. William's Rum and Coke

Around the third week of quarantine my dad bought soda for the first time in a while. My parent's aren't big soda drinkers, so they only buy it when we're back home or if it was part of a coupon deal. My brother decided having soda in the house was the perfect opportunity to make his go-to college drink here. In my opinion this is the easiest drink on the list and you can make it as strong or light as you prefer.




Will's Rum and Coke

-rum

-coke

-ice


1. Add about a shot (or more) of rum to a glass.

2. Fill up the rest with Coke.

3. Add ice and mix.





3. Frozen Strawberry Margaritas

This frozen drink has become my dad's go-to creation. It began with regular frozen margaritas for Taco Tuesday and evolved into this sweet and tart strawberry marg. My dad isn't a big cocktail person and usually sticks with beer, so I was surprised when he started making this drink. I'm glad he did though, because it is officially getting warm in California with no reprieve from the heat in sight. Here's to staying cool and pretending I am at my favorite taco spot.



Frozen Strawberry Margaritas


-frozen strawberries

-1 shot of tequila

-margarita mix (we use the Jose Cuervo one)

-ice


1. Add ice, strawberries, tequila and margarita mix to a blender.

2. Blend, taste and adjust if necessary.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page