top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKellina

What I've Been Cooking-Isolation Week 6?



As we are entering week six? of isolation, #quarantinecooking has been at an all time high in my household. Since I'm quarantining with my parents back in California, I have access to all of my mom's baking supplies, meaning I can finally tackle all(some) of the recipes I've been hoarding on Pinterest! This post is dedicated to a few of my favorites. Happy cooking!


1. THE Cookies (Salted Chocolate Chunk Shortbread Cookies)

Alison Roman really outdid herself with these. 10/10 recommend baking. <-- My parents agree!

Tip: If you don't have a semi-sweet chocolate bar you can chop up semi-sweet chocolate chips for the same effect!



2. Focaccia Bread

I hopped on the bread bandwagon week 2 and I do not regret it! I got to use yeast before all of the stores ran out! If you can not find yeast there are some interesting ways to make your own on the internet right now. I have yet to try these methods, but maybe it will be a future post? I used this Bon Appetit recipe and added fresh rosemary. *chefs kiss*




3. Orange Scented Olive Oil Sticky Buns

I saw this recipe when I was scrolling through my Instagram feed and was intrigued. It's like a cinnamon roll, but with citrus! We had just gotten a ton of oranges from a family friend, so I figured why not give it a shot. This is another recipe I highly recommend using your last remaining bits of yeast on! It's sweet, but not too sweet and the citrus makes it feel like you're doing something good for yourself because vitamin C.



4. Whipped Coffee/Matcha

My sister is a big Tik Tok fan and alerted me to the Dalgona Coffee/Matcha trend that's going around. If you have a spare 10 minutes and want to build some arm strength, this is a drink that lives up to the hype in my opinion.


The Ingredients

2 tbs Instant Coffee

2 tbs Sugar

2 tbs hot water

Whisk it all together and pour over your milk of choice!


The Tik Tok

Dalgona Matcha



5. Eggs Any Style

Now that my commute is the two steps from my bed to my desk, I have found more time to actually make breakfast instead of eating oatmeal I microwaved in my school's library. A new goal of mine is to master every method of cooking eggs. I recently attempted a "french style" omelette and while it wasn't a total fail, I am definitely not getting hired to make eggs professionally any time soon. The addition of parmesan cheese was tasty though!



If you have any recipes you've been loving, please send them my way! You can either comment on this post or send them to kellina.doerr@gmail.com. Here's to staying safe and staying home!

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page